Pharmacy technician requirements in Florida


Do I need classroom hours to take
the PTCB test in Florida?

Reply (
By Keith)

No, anyone who is:
+ A High school graduate (or equivalent)
+ Has No misdemeanor conviction.(last 5 years)
+ No felony conviction

Can pay the registration fee and take the PTCB exam. You are advised to study for it, but you don't have to do that in a classroom necessarily.

However, if you want to
work as a Pharmacy Technician in Florida, there are some additional requirements. I'll paste below a post from DJ in New Smyrna, Fl that goes over the latest requirements.


New Requirements in Florida

by DJ
(New Smyrna, FL)

The new requirements that began Jan 1, 2011 call for registering with the state. To register you must complete a Pharmacy Tech course. So far all I have found are in the $13K to $15K range. It seems an awful amount of money for a job that doesn't pay much more than McDonald's to start with. Even after experience $17 seems to be the maximum I have seen.

I would love to know about any other schools with a better price. I can't afford to go at this point.

Click here to post comments.

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How?
Simply click here to return to Ask a Question


Popular Pages

More Info